Life in Malawi: An Indonesian Perspective (Part 4-End)

Screenshot_032915_120737_AM

It is been a pleasure to mention that I’m back on my writing this epic story about Malawi. This will be the final part of my story.

My third and forth week in Malawi were quite exhausting. As the survey plan was quickly changed. Also I had to get up early in the morning, it was 5:00 am (yes, that early). The heat in southern part of Malawi was killing me. It was so hot, sometimes the temperature can hit 40 degrees celcius. But, people just keep going to collect the data. Amazing!

On the weekend, me and Severin were going to Majete Wildlife Reserve. It was a bit expensive to get there. Transport and also ticket were so expensive (around USD80-90). But in the end, I’m glad I did it. I mean, I will never know if I could come back to Malawi and that was the only chance before I had to move back to Lilongwe. Here are a bit shot of the wildlife.

Screenshot_032915_120929_AM

Screenshot_032915_120818_AM

Screenshot_032915_120737_AM

Last week in Malawi, I was based in Lilongwe. I only had a night but now I have a full week. Unfortunately, it is one of the long week for me. My weekend is full of work load, trying to make sure all workshop materials and data works well. I’m a bit worried as this is my first time delivering a full week QGIS and InaSAFE workshop in other language other than Indonesian!

15298137006_549d8bc77b_z

Day by day has passed. I’m happy the workshop went well and coming home soon, but at the same time, I also sad that I had to leave. My contract is end on 19 September 2014, and I will leave on Sunday. During the last of the workshop, I was really sad. I could not hold my tears because I do care about the people in Malawi. Spending a five weeks with some of them made me feel really close with them. I do asked for apologize if somehow my work is not working as they are expected, as this is my first time working aboard in totally different place, culture, landscape, and people. A lot of awkward moment, a bit of culture shock, but in the end we are the same human anyway.

15134835738_d0fcab3494_z 15298376806_e4f76b0bfd_z

Finally I left Malawi with full of tears of joy, happiness, experiences, knowledge, and plenty of stories which I already wrote most of them here. I really wish I could comeback to Malawi someday.