From Cambodia to Vietnam: Lost in 10 days (4-End)

942191_10151895451756101_707020657_n

Day 6: September 14th 2013

942191_10151895451756101_707020657_n

Hello Ho Chi Minh City (HCMC), Vietnam!  After 13 hours bus trip from Siem Reap to Ho Chi Minh, I couldn’t feel my legs. It was so long. I stayed in Ho Chi Minh for 3 nights. The first night, I didn’t do anything because I arrived at night and so tired. I met 2 Germans, 1 Slovenian, 1 Canadian, and 1 England in my room. Phan Anh Hostel is a new hostel, and I like it. The room may not big like Siem Reap Hostel but comfy enough.

Day 7: September 15th 2013

I have a plan to go to War Remnant Museum, I don’t know what else to do in HCM, so I just walk around the city with the Slovenian and went to the museum. Actually, I’m not a fan of museum, but I think this one is different. There are 3 floors that you can explore, and you can see a lot of photos and documents about Vietnam war. I won’t spoil anyone, but so far, this museum explains a lot details how terrifying and terrible  situation during Vietnam war. And some people still affected by Dioxin, a bio-weapon that US used during Vietnam war.

Some galleries are having disturbing photos and images like this...
Some galleries are having disturbing photos and images like this…

So the museum is quite sad… quite disturbing. If you like history, this is the best start point to visit. After the museum, I went to city tour. The thing I like in HCMC is… every tourist destinations are packed in one location, so it’s so easy to get around. The bad is…. so many people that trying to scam or cheat you. You have to be careful in this city, when you cross the street, pay attention carefully because there are a lot of people that using motorcycles. Also, DO NOT taking photo on the street, a lot of people got their camera stolen. Use anti-theft wallet, you know, that thing that you put inside your shirts🙂

Some places around HCMC are interesting. Like this one: Reunification Palace
Some places around HCMC are interesting. Like this one: Reunification Palace

At night, I went to the street with the German and the Slovenian. They were nice, we were hang out at night. The street near my hostel was really vibrant, full of energy.

1270866_10151895489156101_903381636_o

Day 8: September 16th 2013

I went for Cu Chi Tunnel tour for this day. I only paid around 110,000 VND (US$5-6). It was a half day tour but really interesting for me. In Cu Chi Tunnel, you can see a lot of traps that Vietnamese army used during the war, you also can shot a lot of different kind of weapons in shooting range. Then, finally, you can crouch into small tunnel that Vietnamese army used for hiding and attacking US soldier. It’s not for a claustrophobic person!

Clipping Armpit, one of trap that you can find in Cu Chi Tunnel
Clipping Armpit, one of trap that you can find in Cu Chi Tunnel
Inside the tunnel. You have to crouch!
Inside the tunnel. You have to crouch!

Day 9: September 17th 2013

I’m back to Phnom Penh, also by bus. It takes me 6 hours from HCMC to Phnom Penh.  I stayed in the same hostel, but I didn’t get fan dorm with 4 bed. I got AC dorm with lot of bed, but there were not many people when I got there so, not a problem🙂 Because I started to get really tired, I didn’t do anything today, I will start wandering on the last day🙂

Day 10: September 18th 2013

I tried to find some souvenirs in Phnom Penh, but it was hard. I went to Orrussey Market (Russian Market) which is similar with most of traditional market in Asia especially in Indonesia. You can find cheap clothes and goods here.  Also there is one market that has interesting building, it’s like UFO landed in the middle of Phnom Penh😀

15095_10151895436636101_2107869048_n

 

I also went to the mall, the AC was really cold, it was killing me! Anyway, I didn’t buy anything. Maybe I didn’t do any research for shopping, and usually I don’t like shopping during traveling😀

Anyway, that was all of my stories. I went back to Indonesia on September 19th 2013.

Leave a Reply

