My Place and Culture

Each place has its own characteristic. And that characteristic appears because of a group oh human which has an integrated knowledge, belief and behaviour known as culture. Different place have different culture, just like an old proverb from Indonesia : Other fields, other locusts.

I have some place which has an unique culture because of me and my community and I will tell you each detail.

1. My campus (Online & Offline)

There is a place, located in Student Activities Center called Executive Student Organization HQ. It’s a small place but it has thousand ideas coming through. We has a same purpose, to create a better campus and contribute for the people of Indonesia. We have our own rules called SOP (Standard Operational and Procedure) for each action. Every student can join here and contribute based on their competencies. I joined this community as a Media Staff which I have to do a lot of media activities such as updating the online space (http://www.bem.ui.edu) and also create a monthly magazine about our campus update called ‘BEMedia’. We also create a media product such as short movies, posters, and also banner.

The unique of this HQ is everybody always supporting each other and always get connected. It has an uniqe communication ways called : “Magic Pocket“. Everybody has its own pockets and you can leave everything such as messages or a gift.

There is also another uniqe place (online) called anakUI. It’s a online community blog for University of Indonesia student to give and share information or their opinions about campus lives. Everybody can write their ideas here. You can check it at http://www.anakui.com

2. Opera Campus Community (Online & Offline)

Actually this is new community for me. I’m an Opera User and I like it very much. I joined this community about two months ago and I know it from my friend and he’s Opera User too. First, I really doubt about the community. It’s like we do a promotion about Opera Software (Internet Browser mobile and desktop client), but, my friends told me that it’s not just about promotion, it’s about sharing knowledge about internet world and how we develop a standard websites. We do a lot of gathering with Opera Users from all over Indonesia even all over the world. We connected each other with MyOpera account. It has everything we need. Blogs, online storage, photo sharing, and email. The uniqe things happen here is : its doesn’t matter who you are, whatever you do, everybody can join here. I’m from Geography but I do like to watch the future of internet technology beacuse I’m an internet users too.

3. SPMB-Lover.com (Online)

This is my favorite. I’m an administrator here on this online forum. We gathered all the highschool students and guide them to college world. We give every information about the test, the orientation, the preparation, and the campus life. We also have many informant or leader from every favorite campus all over Indonesia such as University of Indonesia, Bandung Institute of Technology, Bogor Institute of Botani, University Gadjah Mada Yogyakarta, and Sepuluh November Institute of Technology. The uniqe things is : this is the first and the biggest online forum which talk about campus life on Indonesia. Maybe you should check it on at http://www.spmb-lover.com

Started from two years ago, four people who confused where they want to go after high school. We do a lot of gathering on real life but it was not effectives. Waste money, waste time, and it’s very hard to set up a gathering because everybody has different bussiness. And we set up a free service forum and we didn’t expect there are so many members have joined in two years! So, finally, we decided to build and improve this community😀

Actually, there are more stories about other community and other culture. But, too bad, I’m very sleepy right now, maybe I’ll continue this story into another part. And the last I’m gonna say is : Happy birthday to me😀. Yay! On ths article I also want to give thanks to God for the beuatiful life I have. I’m very grateful I was born on this world with wonderful families, friends, and wonderful place😀

Basic Question :

1. What is your typical weekend like? (Please at least list down 5 key moments- from getting up in the morning to going to bed at night)

Each moment please include:

When (exact time)

Where are you

What are you doing

05.00 – 05.30 AM (At home or my dormitory) : Wake up from sleep, wash my face, take ‘wudhu’ and do morning pray.

05.30 – 06.30 AM (At home or my dormitory) : Take a bath, have breakfast, and watch morning news on TV

06.30 – 07.30 AM (From Home : Train station – train – bus – campus/From dormitory : Bus – campus) : On the way to my campus

07.30 – 11.59 AM (At library/faculty/ ESO HQ) : Meets up my friends

12.00 – 12.45 PM (At canteen) : having lunch with my friends

12.45 – 1.00 PM (At mushalla) : do afternoon pray

1.00 – 3.00 PM (On train/bus) : on the way home

3.00 – 3.15 PM (At mushalla) : do dewfall pray

3.15 – 5.00 PM (At home) : have spare time with families

5.00 – 5.30 PM (At home) : take a bath

5.30 – 6.00 PM (At home) : contact with my friends

6.00 – 6.15 PM (At my room) : do evening pray

6.15 – 7.15 PM (On train/bus) : on the way to have some fun with my friends

7.15 – 10.00 PM (At cafe/karaoke center/movies ) : Having fun

10.00 – 11.30 PM (On train/bus) : on the way home

11.30 – 11.45 PM (At home) : do late evening pray

11.45 – 11.49 PM (at my room) : washing my face, brush my teeth, and then sleep.

2.  What kind of place can be called creative? How can a place enable people to be creative and imaginative?

A place can be called creative as long  its shows their characteristic, atmosphere, and also uniqe. I think everywhere we can be a creative and imaginative person as long as the environment support us to be creative and we can be ourselves. For me, it must be quite, safe, and have all the things I need.

3. Does a creative place make people creative? Or creative people make a place creative? Why?

I think a creative placce doesn’t make ALL people creative, because everyone have their own taste about a place. Even we mention that place is quite, fun, enjoyable, and makes ALL people open their mind, it doesn’t make any sense. I agree about creative people make a place creative.

4. What are you looking for in a private space? What are you looking for in a public space? Do you want to separate them or cross them over? Why?

In a private place, I looking for myself. Who I am? What purpose I was born in this world? Etc. All basics and individual question makes me more vulnerable in that place but makes me more confidence in a public space. I’m looking for friends, connection, experience, and fun in a public space. I realized that our lifes is very depentable. Every single person is connected. I need you, and you need me. It’s just like that. I don’t want to cross them over because as I mention on the first sentence, private place makes me more vulnerable. I don’t want to expose my vulnerable in public.


1 Comment

  1. *puyeng de kalao kena bahasa bule*

    oia selamat ya. jadi salah satu pemenang kontes review alnect computer. meskipun belum mendapatkan hadiah sesuai harapan setidaknya dari kemenangan ini bisa menjadi penyemangat, menjadi pembakar, menjadi cambuk untuk meningkatkan kreatifitas dan kualitas tulisan/review. untuk menghadapi kontes alnect ke2 atau kontes review lainnya. tetap semangat ya.. jangan pernah putus asa..

    ditunggu komentar berkualitasnya dalam tulisan ‘Rumah Impian…’.cheers..

Leave a Reply

