Lost in Gili Trawangan: A solo backpacking experience [Part 4: Final]

Previously, you should read Part 1, Part 2, and Part 3

“Traveling is a brutality. It forces you to trust strangers and to lose sight of all that familiar comfort of home and friends. You are constantly off balance. Nothing is yours except the essential things – air, sleep, dreams, the sea, the sky – all things tending towards the eternal or what we imagine of it.” – Cesare Pavese

And here we go, I forgot where I left off. It’s been 5 months since I wrote the last part. Please wait, I need to flashback in time.

[...]

Thank you for waiting :) I remember now! On the last part I told you story about a couple who have a problem, the wife is an alcoholic and the husband is a crystal-meth addict. Well, honestly, I can’t help them. It’s nobody business but heck if you want to help, please help them! But I just wondering if problem like this only happen in this island, maybe… I’m afraid it’s everywhere. Lesson learned that paradise island isn’t always paradise. Hell can break loose if you’re at a wrong place or time. Anyway, there is another secret that I would like to tell you if you want to visit Gili Trawangan. It’s started with “M”, initial “Double-M”. I call it magic mushroom. It’s like a drugs, can make you fly, I heard it’s made from fermented horse poo? (eww…)

During my last night in Gili Island, I just couldn’t sleep so I took a walk and went to ATM. On the way back, I was chilling out in a bar, talking with the local, I was surprised that most of them are not from around Lombok. And there was a group of foreigner, drinking, and asking for “magic mushroom”. Then BOOM! I would call it that they flew pretty high (I assume they were flying into space! Out to other galaxy!!). I wondering what it feels like but, hell NO! I could get robbed. I feel pretty bad when the girls from the group freaked out and tried to help each of “flying man”, to make sure they don’t just jump out to the sea or killing someone (though I never heard of people killed because of the mushroom).

The local told me that foreigner act like they don’t care (usually young foreigner). Sometimes they don’t have respect to the local, and their action shift the local perspective. Remember I told you about local here always think that all foreigners are walking ATM machine? That is because they don’t care whether they do bad thing or good thing (mostly they’re doing bad things) because they think they have money, they richer, they can do whatever they want because if something goes wrong usually they put some money to make it cool.

10 minutes…15 minutes…30 minutes later, they still high. Rain was pouring down, so I ran away from that place. I just keep running, no matter what happen because this island has turned me down. I wish I can go back to Lombok that night :'(

On the next day, I checked out from my hotel. The boat trip was pretty rough, I got all my shirt wet. Oh man. Thinking about the event that occurred last night, I was lucky enough that I can feel this experience in Gili Trawangan. So there are two sides: 1)daylight, when people having fun, snorkeling, walking around the island, reading book. 2)night, here goes the party, even there would be a lot of people drunk or high during full moon party. Watch out your wallet during the party. Careful though, because most of roads are dark, it’s not good to walk alone during night, because you might encounter some “drunken master”.

Well, I might comeback again. Trawangan has more amenities rather than Meno and Air and  I’m sure it will make people comeback again. And I hope not for drunk or get high. Local mindset here already disrupted, and I hope you won’t make it worse.

Safe trip, and enjoy the paradise!

2 thoughts on “Lost in Gili Trawangan: A solo backpacking experience [Part 4: Final]

  1. You can go on night trains alone, but before hoping in the train, especially if you go in the balkans/eastern europe, try to find other young travelers to share a train compartiment with, or some travelers who are stopping in your city’s destination even if you have buy a seat with a number, people usually don’t care about it on those trains and it’s a lot more safier!).

    Vietnam travel| Vietnam travel company

Leave a Reply

