Lost in Gili Trawangan: A solo backpacking experience [Part 3]

You should read the beginning and the second part before read this post.

T/A, if you read this, don’t judge me that I’m a bad person by telling everyone this story. My purpose writing this story is because I really want both of you got some help from people outside that more capable than myself to help. Both of you deserves help, not disgusts from people that gives you bad reviews in TripAdvisor site. I want both of you succeed, and also give mindset that multi-nation marriage can be wonderful.

On the second day. I woke up around 6am in the morning and went to the beach to see the sunrise. The beach was so quite. I couldn’t see the sunrise because the mountain is blocking the sunrise. Anyway, I took a bath then had breakfast, then goes to Windy’s for having video conference with my university and University of Washington. I know it’s really sucks that i have to accept reality that during my runaway vacation I have video conference to write up policy brief document as a part of collaborative task force for climate change task force. But, the brightside was, I could show everyone how nice Gili Trawangan is ;)

I ordered pineapple juice, but during my conference, the staff at Windy’s was not really good. It was unacceptable. Remember the last time I said they being rude after I told them I’m a student? Yes. The tension was rising up! They should serve all customers EQUAL! All customers are same!! They only good with foreigners not local (especially: STUDENTS!) because mindset that foreigners are walking ATMs. I asked for power outlet, but I had to wait until my laptop died because they were really slow. Then during my conference, they plug out my power without saying a word! The worst thing was, suddenly, they put music REALLY loud!! Sucks! Sucks! Sucks! I hate this place!

After I closed my lid, there was a woman, she look confused and she was looking for a seat. She need wifi and power outlet. And I told her “you sit here, this table is too big for my own, I’m okay with that, don’t worry..” Then we started a nice conversation. Her name is T,  she run a bungalow called Beach Combers with her husband, A. She always said that she talks like a duck. But well, everyone has its own talking style, sometimes I also talk like a duck, so I told her I’m fine. I told her stories, she told me stories. Then it goes to personal things, she said: “Umm… no, too much information. Sorry.” After a couple drink (vodka and diet coke), I felt something wrong with her, like the way she talk was like something terrible happen. She always told me that Andre is a good man, but drugs made him bad. Then, she asked about “a great place for hiding” around Indonesia. Definitely something wrong. I feel bad about her and I didn’t mean I really want to “get into it” but I just want to know what is going on. Then she asked me to come along with her, she was inviting me to her place and have more drink there.

At Beach Combers, she introduced me with her husband, A. He looks nice but I changed my mind 5 minutes later because he started to yell at her and swearing her right in front of my face! “Why you took my f*cking wallet? Ha? You’re crazy f*cking woman!! You know what??” And T was stunned. I was stunned. Oh man, this is gone too far. When he was gone, she started crying and say sorry..sorry..sorry. She feel that she dragged me into this drama. And I totally have no idea how to deal with this drama. I just told her: “Well, you know what, don’t be sorry, just be yourself. This is not your fault, bad things happen, if you want to cry you can let it out but don’t say sorry.” Then she stunned again and suddenly she smiled and said thank you. One shot, two shot, oh wait… I think it was three shot of vodka. I was trying to make her calm. It tasted like shit. Yeaaa I was gone too far, but I felt like I couldn’t go anywhere. Sometimes, if something bad happen to people, I could gone too far (maybe I’m too nice).

Then, we ordered pizza at Coral Beach I (just next door to Beach Combers). I like this place. The management is really good. Good food and good people. They served all people equal not like Windy’s. I will tell you later about this place. Back to the drama. T told me that she want to go to the toilet but she wasn’t came back. So I ate the pizza alone.The husband come and he admit it that he beat her. I was shocked. Then he told me that how crazy his wife is. He also told me that she’s a really bad alcoholic. Okay, so there was two side of story. I think both of them are true. I checked the TripAdvisor page for this accommodation. Since it first opening until 2009, it was fine. The reviews are good. But 2010 until now, the reviews gone bad. I found that 2010 it’s the year when the husband become a crystal meth addict. I think that’s the root of the problem. The wife can’t take anymore so she tried to runaway, apparently she can’t because she also own the property. So she’s too stressful and become alcoholic.


This is the third part of my story, for the next part, I will tell you about a little secret about Gili Trawangan island, how the local mindset here look like and how to deal with it.. and also the resolution, what we can learn and how to spend a great vacation here.

11 thoughts on “Lost in Gili Trawangan: A solo backpacking experience [Part 3]

    • I know I should continue until the final part. But the thing is, I still focused on my research. Around first week of july is my final presentation then I will graduate :) after that, I will finished this saga… :)

  1. Pingback: Lost in Gili Trawangan: A solo backpacking experience [Part 4: Final] « Whatever-I-Said

  2. Thank YOU TO MAKE ITS THE TRUTH STORY FROM ANDRE & TRACY (owner from beach combers bungalow)
    & NOW I WANT TELL TO EVERYONE IN THE WORLD , IF NO MORE BEACH COMBERS ,NO MORE DRAMA FROM ANDRE & TRACY , CAUSE IN : 09 of SEPTEMBER 2012 MY BOS , name : BONITA already PAID THE PROPERTY INCLUDED WITH BUNGALOW(beachcombers) FROM ANDRE & TRACY , with price = seret.
    SO FOR EVERY ONE WANT COME IN GILI T FOR HOLIDAY/VACATION , TRAVELER & want FOUND THE ACOMODATION JUST CHEK IT IN : CASA BONITA GILI TRAWANGAN , WE HAVE GARANCY 100% DIEFRENT , NOT SAME LIKE WHEN STILL BEACH COMBERS BUNGALOW , CAUSE NOW ALREADY DIEFRENT OWNER – DIEFRENT BUNGALOW – DIEFRENT MANAJEMENT & of COURSE DIFFERENT SITUASION IN CASA BONITA GILI TRAWANGAN.
    SO JUST COME , SEE & PROVE IT BY YOUR SELF @ THE MOMENT WE DOESNT HAVE SITUS IN GILI T , BUT ITS GONNA BE WILL WE HAVE IT.
    THANK YOU

  3. Casa Bonita gili trawangan is the best for stay with beach front of your room ( bungalow tipe beach front) good service good menajemen & nice service , YOU ARE THE BEST MADE :) all do it ;)

    • Just stayed there and it was great. Would love t write a positive review on tripadvisor but can’t find casa bonita there. please change it. And Made is such a great guy!!!!

      • Thank’s a lot for your testimony Hendrik

        Best Regards

        Sarjan djoemarsa

  4. hii everybody :)
    casa bonita in gili t , that was great place to stay with a beatiful vieuw , calm place & nice beach ;) SPECIAL with Good staff they have it there : Made . Because hes So Smart , nice guy & when i stay there(casa bonita) couple of days , in january 02th , i see only him , can handle everything (cleaning – gardener & kitchen ) but the other thing , one from the other staff working there, bit arogan , even speak indonesian He cant ! any way The palce CASA BONITA in Gili T , thats true If Thats Great place & Good staff Bravo Made.

    • TO everybody go to gili trawangan,TIPS : Dont stay @ Thats Place (casa bonita) Very Bad 1 from the other staff they have, Hes Name is. Agung.
      I dont know How come The Owner From Casa bonita in gili T , take it some staff like him (BULL SHIT) ecause i ve been stay there only one night @ this place,in beggin we want stay in 4 days there,but just one night & the resson We Move to other place Because Of The staff from there AGUNG !!!!!!
      I hope the own from Casa Bonita in gili T can see & Read this than thingking
      with theQuality Staff They have it (agung) Like ANIMAL!!!!!!!!!
      i want write this in Trip Advaiser but i cant found it.
      so for all people want come to Gili T , Dont stay @ this place if you dont want be Sad .

  5. First,I would like to introduce myself as a new person who in charge in Casa Bonita Gili trawangan Lombok.Due to un convenient guest have been stayed I personally welcome all of you to proof that we are a new management(all staffs)will give a standard of hospitality in tourism industry

Leave a Reply

